top of page

FIRST MARKET DAY SALE

My First Market Sale

In 2015 a flyer came through our door promoting a new Market for makers and designers in east London. It was very local to me, just a stone’s throw away from my home in the courtyard of our local pub.

Thinking this might be an opportunity to try selling some of my work, I got in touch. They were delighted to hear from me and were very complimentary about the quality of my work, and would love me to join them.

So on the next Market day I called in to chat with them. It was a hot summer’s day, with all the stalls laid out in the Pub courtyard.

They were very helpful, and advised me on all the necessary arrangements I needed to make, in order to set up my stand. Including the public liability insurance I would need.

So I went away with a long list of things to do.

A strong sturdy table would be needed, a display stand, means of transporting my pots. Loads of bubble wrap. Calling cards and complimentary slips needed printing.

And finally I needed to set up a website.

Once all that was done I was ready to go.

So I booked my stand and when the allotted day arrived I got there early to setup.

It was another very hot day, but plenty of cold lemonade on tap and a silly hat kept me cool.

Everything was laid out and priced. How much to charge for my work was always going to be a tough challenge. So I tried to make sure there where somethings at affordable prices. £20 for a mug didn’t seem too extreme. As well as displaying some of my more creative and expensive pieces.

Once the market was declared open a small but steady stream of potential customers came through the yard.

Lots of complimentary comments were made as people inspected my work but no sales yet.

Then in the corner of my eye I noticed a young Chinese girl with her mother eyeing up one of my mugs. It took several glances from her in my direction before she came over. She’d taken a shine to a blue spattered mug and after discussion with her mother brought it. WA HAY. My first ever sale.

Costs covered and I’m now £10 in profit. Don’t think I’m going to be a millionaire selling here, but a least I got a lot of positive feedback and now gear what I make to where I’m going to sell it.

So now its mugs and small pots for markets and I keep my larger works for exhibitions

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page