top of page

My Review of Last Years London Potters Exhibition


London Potters Exhibition 2015 Thoughts of a Newby

It was the calm before the storm. All the exhibits were laid out, marked up and priced, wine bottles at the ready, when the clock chimed 6, doors opened and the flocks gathered once again for this year’s London Potter exhibition at the Morley Gallery.

At the allotted time, the voice of Geoff could be heard bellowing out, gathering the crowds together for the awards.

He then gave what I thought was a slightly unrehearsed but very impassioned speech. The majority of which seemed to focus on the lack of support from volunteers and that events such as this may not happen in the future unless more people were prepared to get involved.

The seemed to contradict everything I had experienced in the setting up and running of the exhibition

From early on it was made clear that, anyone entering work into the exhibition was expected to participate in the running of the show. Once my application to exhibit had been accepted, Karen’s exhibitors brief came through with details how I was expected to help out, failure to do so may preclude you from entering future exhibitions.

This seemed a bit stern, but maybe that was because it’s difficult to interpret the tone in emails.

However for me this wasn’t a problem, as from the very start I was determined to help out in any way I could. As a Newby, I felt it would be a good way to get to know other members and learn how things work within the community.

As soon as my work schedule had been sorted, I made contact with details of available stewarding days. Since I wasn’t working the week before the exhibition I also offered my assistance, in any way, to help set up the show.

With a grateful reply from Catriona, my steward day was booked and a request made for me to help out on the day of the private view. Great I thought, but would have liked to help out more.

The day came to drop off my work at the gallery, and as I arrived I could see a hive of activity going on.

Someone was outside helping to guide the positioning of pots in the window. As I went in, I was greeted by a very pleasant lady who explained how to proceed. Once unpacked, I then went through to be greeted by two more ladies, who inspected my pieces, handing out labels. They were extremely helpful with advice on the pricing of my work. Since this was my very first time selling at a gallery, I had no idea how much I could ask for them. As it turns out, their advice was spot on, as at the time of writing this, two of my pots have sold.

Next I was directed through into the gallery and was greeted by Catriona and another volunteer, who sorted out the paperwork and told me where I could leave my pots.

Whilst having a quick nosy around, checking out the competition, I could also see people laying out exhibits. In some areas, dust sheets protected the floor whilst people were painting everything white, including themselves.

On leaving I reminded Catriona that I was still free Monday too, if she needed any further help.

Over the weekend she phoned to confirm that they were ok on the Monday and that my help on Tuesday was still required

So on the day of the private view. I arrived at 1pm as requested. It was all very calm. Everything was laid out and the judging done. I was invited to join the gallery staff, judges and Catriona for lunch and coffee. Friendly banter included the subject of the Great Pottery Throw Down. Grapes and cheese devoured, it was time to finish setting up. All that remained was labelling of the exhibits which the three of us did remarkably quickly thanks to Catriona’s efficient paperwork and to inform the prize winners that it might be wise for them to attend tonight’s private viewing.

After a leisurely meander around the exhibition, it was soon time to open up as yet more volunteers arrived to help out during the evening.

So Geoff’s comments about the lack of volunteers seemed totally at odds with the experience I had witnessed. There had indeed been an abundance of people contributing and helping out during the setting up and running of the show and it seemed a shame that not enough thanks was given to them on the night.

So what was he talking about?

I noticed that in the latest copy of the London Potters news. The position of exhibition officer is vacant

On reflection, could it have been that he was referring not to volunteers offering their services as bodies setting things up, but was instead referring to the lack of people prepared to take on more responsible positions in organising such events

Unfortunately it’s quite common in clubs and small organisations run by volunteers to find people prepared to take on such important and often un- appreciated positions. Many might feel, that taking on such important work would be too much for them to handle, especially if they work full time or lack the experience and expertise needed. Especially if all they hear is how hard it is to do this kind of event.

The important thing to emphasise here is that with good use of delegation and support, organising such things is not such a daunting prospect.

There are obviously a lot of us out there willing to offer help so use us.

I myself work full time too. However if asked and I’m able too, would be more than happy to lend a hand. I just need asking

So to all Non Council Members I suggest this.

If you want to run an event of have an idea for one, don’t be put off by what seems like a lot of work. All you have to do is ask for help and it will be forthcoming.

If you hear that someone is trying to arrange something and needs help, offer to assist then in any way you can.

To LP Council Members I suggest this

If someone wants to organise an event, find out what support they need and help them with your expertise and experience in arranging such things. Don’t just send out an email saying so and so needs help. Use your wisdom and knowledge to actively search out the best available people to assist them.

This may seem like a bit of extra work to start with. But eventually more people will gain the confidence to take on more responsible tasks, knowing that they will have the full support of all the members of London Potters

In the end, the opening night of this year’s exhibition went well

However there is something which should have been done on the night but somehow got overlooked.

From me, all the exhibitors and everyone else there.

A big three cheers, hip hip hurray, goes to Catriona and ALL the volunteers who helped to make it such a great success.

A NEWBY

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page